Amanda’s Story: From Serial Dieter To Healthy Eater

27294471_10215525500115692_904188135_n

Amanda is a 42 year old mum who has serial dieted for over 20 years.  You name the diet and she has has tried it…but failed….time and time again.  She had spent so long with a love/hate relationship with food that she had got to the point she was willing to try something totally different.  I caught up with Amanda and asked her about her experience on being on DIET DISRUPTER and how it has helped to finally ditch the diet and transform her eating habits.

Find out more about DIET DISRUPTER.  

How long have you been on the DIET DISRUPTER PROGRAMME?
I have been a member for nearly 3 months now.  The programme of learning is over 4 weeks and I have taken that learning and put it into practice and it is now part of my healthy lifestyle.

What did you think before you joined the programme?
Probably a bit skeptical because I’ve tried everything. You name it I’ve tried it, time and time again but I was at a stage where I was willing to give something different a try.

What has been the hardest thing about the programme?
It’s not actually been hard. Maybe in the 2nd week the headaches were probably about the hardest thing but plenty of glasses of water and early nights did the trick. The programme has actually been so much easier than I thought.

What do you love about being on the Programme?
The fact that I’ve got these abundance of recipes now that the whole family enjoy. We were in that rut of having fish on a Monday, same thing every Tuesday, and by Wednesday we were so bored of it we’d go and get takeaway. We don’t have to do that now as we have such a range of recipes to pick from that we all love.

The DIET DISRUPTER CLUB community has also been great providing excellent support, ideas, encouragement, and we’ve some good laughs too.

What is your favourite DIET DISRUPTER meal?
Oh…it’s a tough one. I love the Butternut Squash and Green Bean Curry but the Marscapone Pasta feels like such a treat, like proper comfort food.

25348278_10215163263860012_4241523735183488603_n

What would you say to someone that is on the sidelines about joining?
Just do it. What have you got to lose? You’ll gain so many recipes, lots of friends through the community, the support is great. Just do it! JOIN HERE

What has been your biggest health change?
Ditching the obsession with calories, which for someone that has spent 20 years on various diets that really restricted calories such as the 500 a day diet, cabbage soup diet. My relationship with food has totally changed and eating without worrying about how many calories I’ve had that day has just been liberating. 2018 is going to be my year for finally ditching the diets, eating healthy and learning to love me and my body.

What has been your weight and inch loss to date?
I’m down 20lbs.  I have also lost 3 inches from bust, 6 inches from hips, 4 inches from waist and 2 inches from thighs.

25593819_10215237534356728_965187060_n
The amazing thing is I’ve done it without starving myself for the first time ever. Usually weight loss has come about through starvation then bingeing, then starving. For as long as I can remember I’ve been obsessed with weight and losing it fast so it’s a real mindset shift for me which I am so delighted about! For me now I’m more thinking about nourishing my body. I don’t actually worry about calories. I just think if something has too much sugar or if my body is not going to respond well to it which is just a complete revolution for me.

How has this differed from any other diet that you’ve been on?
I’ve never eaten so much on a diet as usually diet for me is small portions, portion control, and not too many calories . I’ve never eaten so much lovely healthy food. I’ve never felt deprived. The fact that I can have that takeaway if I’m out with the girls and not feel guilt but then the next morning my body now craves more nourishing foods . I actually want it rather than thinking I’m back on a diet. That for me has been a complete and utter transformation. Previously on diets I would have felt restricted, deprived, binge-starved but I’ve broken that cycle once and for all.

What has surprised you the most about the programme?
I probably didn’t appreciate just how transformational this would be. From someone that over 20 years has tried everything and was a bit cynical in that you’re never going to break my sugar craving, crisp craving, takeaway habits etc.  Within the space of a couple of weeks it was gone.  Absolutely gone!

What do you eat on a typical day on DIET DISRUPTER?

26231514_10215406947951962_8286593323168587930_n
It varies as the recipes are all great.  A day of eating can include a green pear smoothie for breakfast, butternut squash and sweet potato soup with toasted seeds for lunch, handful of nuts and green apple snack, meatballs and brown rice spaghetti with tons of veg chucked in for dinner, and a wee bounty bite at night with my herbal tea. Such yummy nutritious eating!

Any last thoughts you’d like to share?
I can’t actually express how much I’ve transformed and changed my mindset. I caught site of myself in a mirror in a coffee shop the other day and actually smiled! Like properly grinned because I liked what I saw.  Pizza used to be my absolute downfall but when I went to Pizza Express for lunch on that same day all I wanted was the chicken and goats cheese salad and thoroughly enjoyed it! I didn’t even feel deprived that I never ordered pizza.  Total transformation!

Can you relate to Amanda’s story? Would you like to break the cycle of dieting, bingeing, starving?  Take action now to change your lifestyle and JOIN DISRUPTER TODAY   Do it now and don’t wait another month!

Join me in my Facebook Community where I share recipe hints and tips, and provide you with motivation, encouragement, and accountability to help you on your own health journey.

Copy of I've moved-10

 

Leave a comment